“Happiness is a switch that you flick in your brain”

I read this sentence today on The Talks , interviewing Tom Ford.

I learned that happiness for all of us is a switch that you flick in your brain. It doesn’t have anything to do with getting a new house, a new car, a new girlfriend, or a new pair of shoes. Our culture is very much about that; we are never happy with what we have today. We always think that we need something else to be happy.

It’s very true. We’re always seeking what we don’t have, picking into other people’s life and forget to appreciate what we’re having ! We’re so greedy that it seems nothing is enough for us. But this is so wrong. It’s the opposite, we’re having too much of everything. Too much of clothing, too much of food, too much of electronic equipment ,etc.

As a great designer, something he said also moved me a lot,

How would you describe your current state of mind?

I feel that I don’t need anything for a good life. I grew up in New Mexico and the older I get I have less need for contemporary culture and big cities and all the stuff we are bombarded with. I am happier at my ranch in the middle of nowhere watching a bug carry leaves across the grass, listening to silence, riding my horse, and being in open space. So I have some sort of security that if I lost everything in my life, I would be very happy with the simple things because they are the ones that are important.

Do you get the most inspiration from nature? It is the ultimate beauty, after all.

Yes, nature is the closest thing to God and I don’t mean God by any sort of religion but by the connection to the universe, which I think we have lost. The American Indians had that and where I live is actually the center of the Anasazi Indian civilization. I even have two huge Anasazi ruins on the property of my ranch. I am not saying that there definitely is some sort of spirituality coming from there, but there might be. When you are close to the earth and you get up when the sun comes up and you go to sleep when it goes down, it puts everything in perspective.

Really?

Yes, all the rest of this crap just fades away. We’ve lost our contact with the earth. Dogs don’t have guilt, dogs don’t have insecurity complexes, dogs don’t think that they need a bigger house than the other dog. Dogs are just completely themselves. They’re very in touch, they’re not thinking about their death. They are just rolling on their back, enjoying what that feels like. I think that is sort of the appeal of animals in our lives; that is what’s important.

IMG_3034

Yes, NATURE NATURE NATURE.

I can promise you, nothing will make you feel more free than feeling the breeze on your face, smell the salt from the sea, feel the temperature of water or running like a kid in a corn filed. We need that contact with the earth. It’s essential, it’s what all life about. Being connected, to people but also to the earth.

IMG_3047

Since I got that new job in AALTO Bistro as a helping hand in the kitchen. I am very HAPPY. I just love my job, whatever it’s watering planting, washing dishes, running up and downs, switching my brain from English to Icelandic, sweeping floors, chopping onions, peeling vegetables, frying potato pancakes in 50+ degrees, I’m just enjoying doing it. Because this is something interests me and I know how to do it, so why not put my soul into it?

I’ve been dreaming of being a chef almost since I’m a kid, I see myself starting my day in the kitchen, preparing food and now I’m here. Who knows maybe in ten years, I would able to open my own restaurant.

IMG_3038

It’s true that life is a box of chocolate, we never know what we gonna get. Yet, enjoy every single piece of chocolate you get, the crunchiness of the chocolate, the bitterness, the sweetness, maybe a bit sour taste as well? And what about the heart? Just close your eyes and enjoy as much as you can. I promise you, happiness is no more complicated than that.

3 thoughts on ““Happiness is a switch that you flick in your brain”

  1. I really enjoyed your blogpost. It was exactly what I needed right now!!! Thank you. And I really would like to come to Aalto Bistro for dinner tonight! 🙂

    • Thank you thank you thank you. I appreciate that you like them. Unfortunately the bistro is closed today because of the National Day. But feel free to drop by on Thursday or so, cheers 🙂

      • Oh, I wasn’t in Iceland yesterday. I’m in Germany right now. So it was no problem at all that the Bistro was closed. 😉 Maybe I drop by the next time I visit Iceland and Reykjavik. Have a nice day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

