David

Let’s start today’s blog with a story, a story about the famous DAVID.

One day Michelangelo was asked by a journalist of his time, “how did you create this most amazing masterpiece, David?” to which Michelangelo responded, “it was easy, I went to the quarry. I saw this huge piece of marble and in it, I saw David. All I needed to do was to chip away the excess stone, to get rid of the marble that shouldn’t have been there. And when I got rid of this excess stone, there was David.

I heard this story from a public course of Harvard, called “Positive Psychology”, namely how to be happIER. The study shows that even in school like Harvard, some students are depressed and unhappy, including the professor who delivered this course. It may sound strange but absolutely true. For example, in a match, you expect to be in top three, but in the end you only get eight. Some people will think negatively that he’s so disappointed about himself, that he should have done this or that. While some people will learn from the loss, “well this time, I didn’t do good enough, it’s because…but next time, I’ll do better.” Same things happen, two totally different reactions. What we should do is to learn from the loss not to being regret all the time. We can not change the past but we can improve the future.

2012-12-22 12.51.13

Happiness is a lifelong pursuit. It’s not 1 or 0. Are you happy? It’s a meaningless question. The real question is HOW. Back to the DAVID story, easy said than done. In real life, it’s not obvious to do the subtraction. We’re adding too much on our shoulders, money, status, fame, self-esteem, etc. In the end, we feel breathless, but our self-esteem is so high that we refuse to say “please help, I’m weak”. We’re always on the run, busy managing the family life, social life, relations…but how many time we leave to ourselves? Tell the true, how many times you feel uncomfortable when it comes to the silence? Can you sit around a fireplace, just to enjoy the beauty of the stillness? I’m sure if I ask these questions to my friends, they would probably laugh at me. Stay still? Are you mad? My salary of an hour is hundred dollars.

My grandmother ask me something I didn’t expect “do you think your mum is happy?” I almost cried when she asked. I know exactly what she means. Having both her father and her sister sick, she’s doing everything on her own, I can only help until next month, then I’ll be going to another end of the planet. Plus the relation between my dad and my mum doesn’t help neither. He’s an intelligent man but his self-esteem is so high that he refuses to show any weakness. His character is also something very special. I would have gone crazy if I were her.

Leave a Reply

