Burn burn burn…

First time I had this book in hand was in high school, both in English and Chinese version. Back to that time, the idea of traveling alone with only a bag is terrific. It seems so precious to me that I never finishing reading the book!

Sex, drug, unconsciousness, madness, no wonder it’s a bit too harsh for a girl of eighteen years old. When I sat in the theater yesterday, I still can feel something stirring my stomach, even shocked by several scenes. Is it real how his life was? DRAMATIC!!

“… the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones that never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn…”
– Jack Kerouac, On the Road, Part 1, Ch. 1

ImageSometimes we say “Insane people get together”, I can not agree more. Everyone is on his own road, we may come across someone, important or not, this person will keep you accompanied for a period of time, not too long not too short, just the right time until you met another person.

Life is like a tree, born, grow, fade, death, reborn, and we’re just these small tiny things on the different branches. In my opinion, there’s no right or wrong choice, and there’s no coincidence neither. Each step in life we take leads to a different place. Sometimes, you could be good to get yourself lost from time to time cause it’s always in the most unexpected place you discover the most wonderful things.

At some point, I will re-start reading this book and hopefully I can finish it this time.

Image

Rue de Faubourg Saint-Antoine, Paris

I left New York in 1949
To go across the country without a bad blame dime
Montana in the cold cold fall
Found my father in the gambling hall

Father, Father where you been?
I’ve been out in the world and I’m only ten
Father, Father where you been?
I’ve been out in the world and I’m only ten

Don’t worry about me if I should die of pleurisy

Across to Mississippi, across to Tennessee
Across the Niagara, home I’ll never be
Home in ol’ Medora, home in Ol’ Truckee
Apalachicola, home I’ll never be

Better or for worse, thick and thin
Like being married to the Little poor man
God he loves me
Just like I love him
I want you to do
Just the same for him

Well the worms eat away but don’t worry watch the wind
So I left Monatana on an old freight train
The night my father died in the cold cold rain

Road to Opelousas, road to Wounded Knee
Road to Ogallala home I’ll never be
Road to Oklahoma, road to El Cahon
Road to Tahachapi, road to San Antone

Hey, hey

Road to Opelousas, road to Wounded Knee
Road to Ogallala, home I’ll never be
Road to Oklahoma, road to El Cahon
Road to Tahachapi, road to San Antone

Home I’ll never be, home I’ll never be
Home I’ll never be, home I’ll never be
Home I’ll never be, home I’ll never be

Good Morning Paris

2 thoughts on “Burn burn burn…

Leave a Reply

