Smoking, drinking, never thinking…

There’re several versions of this song, composed by Duke Ellington and Irving Mills in the 30s’.

And I love the lyric…

They say into your early life romance came
And in this heart of yours burned a flame
A flame that flickered one day and died away
Then, with disillusion deep in your eyes
You learned that fools in love soon grow wise
The years have changed you, somehow
I see you now
Smoking, drinking, never thinking of tomorrow, nonchalant,
Diamonds shining, dancing, dining with some man in a restaurant
IS THAT WHAT YOU REALLY WANT
OH NO, Sophisticated Lady
I know, you miss the love you lost long ago
And when nobody is nigh you cry

Of course, my favorite line is “Smoking, drinking, never thinking of tomorrow”…it’s almost heart-broken when she sings “I know, you miss the love you lost long ago”.

I think the reason I love jazz so much is that every time I listen to jazz I feel very calm and peaceful and happy.

Good Night Paris…

sweet dreams

Leave a Reply

