Everyone says I love you

Paris, romance, humor, New Yorker, jazz music, thick black glasses, now, name one film director, only one and you have 2 seconds. Go!

Woody Allen, isn’t it?

Recently, I reviewed one of his old movie, “Everyone says I love you”. I can’t express my admire to this talented director. “Match Point” is one of my favorite movies ever.

“I wasn’t away. And I’m not back. It (Match Point) was a film about luck, and it was a very lucky film for me. I did it the way I do all my pictures, and it just worked. I needed a rainy day, I got a rainy day. I needed sun, I got sun. Kate Winslet dropped out at the last moment because she wanted to be with her family, and Scarlett Johansson was available on two days’ notice. It’s like I couldn’t ruin this picture no matter how hard I tried.”

Image

Few of his quotes that I like:

Basically I am a low-culture person. I prefer watching baseball with a beer and some meatballs.

The two biggest myths about me are that I’m an intellectual, because I wear these glasses, and that I’m an artist because my films lose money. Those two myths have been prevalent for many years.

Join the army, see the world, meet interesting people – and kill ’em.

To you, I’m an atheist; to God, I’m the Loyal Opposition

Don’t knock masturbation. It’s sex with someone I love.

To love is to suffer. To avoid suffering, one must not love. But then, one suffers from not loving. Therefore, to love is to suffer; not to love is to suffer; to suffer is to suffer. To be happy is to love. To be happy, then, is to suffer, but suffering makes one unhappy. Therefore, to be happy, one must love or love to suffer or suffer from too much happiness.

A relationship, I think, is like a shark. You know? It has to constantly move forward or it dies. And I think what we got on our hands is a dead shark.

Bisexuality immediately doubles your chances for a date on Saturday night.

You will notice that what we are aiming at when we fall in love is a very strange paradox. The paradox consists of the fact that, when we fall in love, we are seeking to re-find all or some of the people to whom we were attached as children. On the other hand, we ask our beloved to correct all of the wrongs that these early parents or siblings inflicted upon us. So that love contains in it the contradiction: The attempt to return to the past and the attempt to undo the past.

Sex without love is an empty experience, but as far as empty experiences go, it’s one of the best.

Regarding love… what can you say? It’s not the quantity of your sexual relations that counts. It’s the quality. On the other hand if the quantity drops below once every eight months, I would definitely look into it.

Image
Good Night Paris
Leave a Reply

