iPocalypse

First of all, I didn’t invent this word, Benjamin Mee in the movie “We Bought a Zoo” did. But I felt it absolutely right! I’m the number one victim. Few days ago, I lost my iphone, and until now, it’s been 3 days, I haven’t managed to use my phone. It’s like part of my life collapsed. For God’s sake, there’s something called Facebook in this world, how genius! (another series killer…)

Image

Today, we’re overwhelmed with the apps the laptops the i-this i-that, things happen on the internet. People watch the presidential debate on their smart phone and maybe there’s an app for the vote. We do less and less emails (except for the professional reasons) but we facebook! Letters? Postcards? It’s like decades ago! It seems that everything can connect to the facebook nowadays, it’s terrifying. We’re becoming the victims in this invisible prison called “facebook”, the worst thing is that we’re kind a happy in it. We send “invitations”, we make “friends”, we “like”, we “check-in”, we observe the “life” of the others.

Image

I don’t really have the position to “juge” facebook since I’m one of the happy prisoners. I’m wondering if there’s a way I can get rid of it, it’s like a drug. I’m seriously mentally addicted. I have a friend who said to me one day: iPhone is my life. I found it’s terrifying but decently true. We can do almost everything with it. We become dependent.

Sadly, I do think that it’s the trend of this world. Things getting virtual, relations getting shallow, people are eager for new things…etc. Deep down in me, I’m a person very nostalgic, I love vinyls, inks, polaroid, vintage stuffs, however I love the new technology, the social media, the whole virtual world out there excites me a lot.

I want to end the article my favorite line of this movie…

“All you need is 20 seconds of insane courage and I promise you something great will come of it”

Good Night, tomorrow is another day!

Keep tuned

PS: Photo by Leonid Tishkov – Private Moon

2 thoughts on “iPocalypse

Leave a Reply

